It’s April Already!

I’m still unwell so I’ve cut down my activism work because something had to give and whilst I love trying to fight for my rights it is really draining.

I’m standing as a candidate for the Green Party in the council elections which is quite exciting. The area is a Labour safe-seat so I’m not going to kid myself that I’ll get more than a fraction of the vote but still, I think it’s important to keep the party on the radar and give locals the option of another choice.

I’m excited about speaking at the INTERSECT conference in Bristol this May. It’ll be great to meet other activists and hopefully I’ll be able to explain why disability rights are a feminist issue in a clear and concise manner.

I have also been doing some low-level local activism in my area by calling the council and speaking to them about lack of lowered kerbs and poor short-term civic planning with regards to disability. My bank and a few other companies that are big enough to know better have also been on the receiving end of some calls and letters pointing out that I think it would be reasonable for them to improve access given their resources and provision of a public service. It may not do much, but hopefully if someone else complains in the future it will strengthen it until they do something.

So that’s me, what have you been up to?

  1. Congratulations on running for the local council – and good luck with that! You never know the way things might turn, especially at a local level.

    Really hope you're health picks up soon.

    Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

