Where Have You Been?

I’ve been rather absent from the world over the last month because life has gotten in the way of activism which in some ways is a shame but mostly it’s to be expected from time to time. Preparing to move house and health issues have eaten up my time and energy. Even with that going on there have been a couple of high points so  I thought I’d post an update.

ESA


I thought I’d start on a positive note. I’ve had some great news, I appealed a DWP decision to place me in the WRAG (Work Related Activity Group) for ESA (Employment Support Allowance) on the basis I am virtually unable to walk (or unable to walk without severe pain & discomfort). I sent in a letter quoting the criteria for the support group I believed I met, told them exactly which doctors letter confirmed it and waited to hear if it would be enough. It turns out it was! Now I’m in the support group and able to do as much voluntary work as I can manage. 


To me it doesn’t feel any different to being the the WRAG if I’m honest. My local Igneus branch (the company paid by the DWP to get sick/disabled people into work) didn’t think I stood a chance in hell of being employed when I was in the WRAG so they just left me alone to carry on doing little bits of voluntary work here and there. I am well aware some other people are not as fortunate.

Health


My personal health has not taken any dramatic turns for the worse over the last month but I have been caught in a rather naff flare up. 


For those not familiar with the term, a flare up is pretty common when you have a chronic condition. They happen when something causes the condition to get really bad for a few days or sometimes weeks. It’s not that the condition has taken a turn for the worse, it’s just that it goes through a bad patch. After a flare up it’s common to feel ‘set back’. A week in bed or a few days of not eating can leave you feeling weaker than before. A mental health flare up can leave you feeling rather rattled or exhausted for a while afterwards. 


In my case I had a pretty nasty infection for over a week then as I was recovering my bowel became twisted which has caused a lot of pain and discomfort. I’m used to having a twisted bowel, it happens at least twice a month and usually resolves within 8 hours of the pain getting to that unbearable point. Unfortunately this episode has been going on for 4 days now and is wearing me (and my Oramorph supply) down. Luckily the twisting seems to have only partially blocked it so far so I’m not going into hospital but I’m still in a lot of pain with it.


As a result I’ve spent the last 3 weeks in rather ill health which has really negatively impacted on my ability to do much more than moan about how unwell I feel. 

Netroots UK


I went to Netroots UK at the end of June to try and get some ideas for my activism. I was lucky enough to meet a bunch of wonderful Welfare Warriors and to have a chance to chat to some other people I’ve admired for quite some time. 

I left feeling inspired to keep pushing my local and political work as well as assisting with national campaigns where I can. I’ve spoken to a few people about getting involved in some exciting projects once I’ve finished moving house, if any of them get off the ground I’ll keep you posted.


Moving

I’m still moving house which is taking longer than initially expected because of my bout of extra-ill health and the house needing a bit more work than we originally thought it would. Still, we have done a lot of work and it’s paying off. It all looks far better now and should only get better as we continue. I’m very excited about getting in now, luckily it should only mean waiting 3 weeks now!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

