Job Hunting – Part Two

I said I’d write a follow up when I had more news and now I do!

I did apply to a service designed to help disabled people into work but discovered to my dismay that they wanted a complex referral from social services. Not having any idea how to sort it out and quite frankly not having the energy to do so I have not gotten around to sorting that out.

I have kept one eye on the governments Job Search website but to no-avail. The closest I’ve come to a really flexible job that would fit around my health issues was the mistakenly advertised “Babe Chat” position. I’m not anti-sex workers, but it’s not something I feel comfortable doing. I also don’t imagine for one second I’m exactly the kind of person that Loaded TV were hoping to recruit *grins*

I did start checking charity websites and looking at jobs within the Tribunal Service as well as considering applying to be a magistrate. Sadly I don’t meet the health requirements to be a magistrate, and the tribunal service isn’t recruiting until March 2013. Luckily I did spot a vacancy with a mental health charity, working about 10 hours a month, helping with quality assurance work. I applied back in November and was fortunate enough to get a telephone interview in early December. Just before Christmas I got an email inviting me to start training in Spring! I’m pretty darn chuffed, but given the wait before starting and the current economic situation I’m trying not to get my hopes to high – just in case it gets rescinded. 
I’m going to leave the job hunt there for the moment as I have been fortunate enough to find an opportunity that appears to suit my health condition as well as being physically & mentally accessible. I imagine I will have more to add when I have a start date and I find myself needing to deal with the DWP. 
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

