Groundhog Doctors Appointments

I am so very, very sick of having this conversation with doctors;

Doctor: “We can’t do anything more for your condition without surgery. Surgery is not an option because it is far too risky. Now it’s just a case of finding ways to manage your condition, like pacing. Let’s talk about what would help.”

I get some aids/medication to help and I go away and practice pacing. I come back 6 months to a year later.

Me: “Now that I’m not focused on trying to find a cure I’ve come a long way in managing my condition. I’ve used [x] aid to help with pacing & [y&z] medication have really helped. I’m feeling a lot better and doing a lot more.”

Doctor: “We don’t want you to become reliant on your aids or medication! What would happen if you suddenly got better?”

Me: “…but you said that I wouldn’t and that we needed to focus on management now.”

Doctor: “Don’t be defeatist. That’s a very negative attitude to take. How is your mental health? How about I send you to see Dr/Nurse So-and-so to talk about other interventions.”

I go to see the new Dr/Nurse and then come back to visit my Doctor to get the results.

Doctor: “We can’t do anything more for your condition without surgery. Surgery is not an option because it is far too risky. Now it’s just a case of finding ways to manage your condition, like pacing. Let’s talk about what would help.”

IT’S NEVER ENDING.

Even when I point out how frustrating having the same conversation is it does nothing. Bah.

  1. Have you tried writing down the dates of appointments and what phase they're in of the cycle? Then when you get told, “Lets try pacing” you can just retort with the day and time that was last mentioned

    Like

  2. Orrrrr record them and play it back at them!! Honestly how do these people get their degrees??

    Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

