The Dreaded Pink Form 2013

This week I received a copy of the “Dreaded Pink Form”, also known as the ESA50 or Limited Capability for Work Questionnaire. I get one every 12 months and as it stands I will be getting one every 12 months until I’m claiming a pension or I’m dead. It’s so the DWP can assess my fitness for work and decide if I should still get ESA. As my condition is only expected to degenerate this isn’t something I personally feel is necessary. I could understand maybe once every 5 years if they want to keep checking but every 12 months? It’s a waste of government money, my time and damaging to my mental health. Still, as all the major political parties think it is necessary I’ve got no choice but to acquiesce and protest about it.

Picture of the ESA50 form. You can click on it to enlarge.

The first time I filled in a ESA50 I was invited to attend a Work Capability Assessment (WCA) where health proffessionals working for a IT company called Atos assessed my fitness to work. Much to the surprise of everyone I knew, my doctors and the job centre they found me fit to work. They then used that decision to turn down my application for Disability Living Allowance (DLA). It took 18 months to get the decisions over turned. During that time my disability and the high cost of living with it didn’t go away, I just wasn’t entitled to any support to help me live with it. I fell into debt and depression. Fortunately for me the appeals tribunals were both less than 15mins from start to finish because of the  abundance of evidence on my side. As a result of having to live through that nightmare I’m always very apprehensive about these forms because I know what could happen if something is misinterpreted.

It may sound a bit paranoid to suggest that they would try to purposefully trip up claimants, but as I think I can show that is precisely what this form does. It makes it very difficult to describe your condition and/or disability in a way that tallies with the criteria.
Take question 1, it asks how far you can move around without difficulty. The possible answers are; 50m, 100m, 200m or more and “It varies”. Can you see the problem with that? What do you tick if you can’t move more than 20m with difficulty? What do you tick if you can’t move more than 1m? Do you choose the 50m category and look like you can move further or do you choose it varies and then hope they don’t use the fact you said it varies to suggest the issue isn’t a permanent one? 
It’s especially telling as one of the criteria to enter the support group is not being able to move 50m. By making it so that people in that situation don’t have an easy “less than 50m” box to tick then people will be forced to tick a box that doesn’t describe their situation adequately and could contribute to a decision not to award appropriate support. I ticked the 50m box last year even though I can manage a maximum of 30m with severe pain and associated vomiting or 1-2m without. I explained that in the box below and included a letter form my GP which said precisely that. They didn’t place me in the support group until I wrote an appeal because it wasn’t “clear” from my form that I couldn’t walk 50m without pain.

A picture of question 1 in the ESA50 form. You can click on it to enlarge.

It’s not a one off either. Add to these questions the extra pressure added in by other changes to the process which include using imaginary wheelchairs and ignoring the overlap between cognitive/mental & physical health in this years ESA50’s it all becomes extremely stressful.

The good thing to come ou of this pink form is it’s reminded me that there is still a huge battle to be won with regards to ESA, and that where we may not win it all – at least not straight away – we can try to make some ground by trying to get the DWP to improve little bits of it’s system. For example, changing it’s questions so they are fairer and tally with the criteria being tested against.

I’m going to put my thinking cap on and try to work out how best to challenge the DWP on this score. Hopefully I’ll be back with some ideas!

  1. can u not leave them all blank and fill in the box describing how far in reality you can walk including evidence in the form of letters or anything too prove that (maybe even youtube links would be interesting what there response would be to online video of you trying to prove how difficult walking is for yourself) Maybe an anaylsis of your vomit as well proving it belonged to via DNA testing could go all CSI on them there. photos etc.

    Like

  2. I haven't been transferred yet (I'll be £20 a week better off on ESA, so I guess they're leaving me 'til last), but when we filled the form in for Stephen, most of the tickboxes were left blank with “See Below” next to them. And knowing a little about the law, there are so many criteria where there's not even a question about it. It's kind of like giving a history exam where you can get marks for your knowledge of Spanish Civil War, but all the questions about the Industrial Revolution.

    Good luck with it all!

    (Stephen did get into the Support Group, first time without interview, so there's nothing wrong in leaving boxes empty if they don't apply. Experience, of course, may vary.)

    Like

  3. Filling up these forms does seem unfair especially because you can't adequately describe a disability simply by ticking boxes. A difficult road it may be, but I believe having a lawyer with evidence that support your claim is better than just answering a survey of sorts. -Ermina Cavins @ Parmele Law Firm

    Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

